mayday (the summer comes in silence)

IMG_0096.JPG
it hits hard,
the perfume of coffins.
I’d rather have mosses.
I’d rather hide deeply in trees.

I’d rather just drink 
the laced water
and try not to slow-starve
while smiling.
I’d rather give up
than hope foolishly,
acting like this type of 
sunburnt, mosquito-drenched living
would suit me.

I’d rather accept …
just die gracefully,
not bite down the poison
and pretend the kind years
were anything more
than a sickness of jokes
and a windup of fears.
~5/1/2014

photo is from popular app game Monument Valley

mayday (the summer comes in silence)

Comment ...

