The letter of comfort Autumn the Immortal left behind for her Lover, the Winter

Goodmorning my lover!
Who makes the cold…
Where did you go?
I waited in frozen night,
trusted that you’d come
inside from the snow –
that your breath would warm
frosty against me; I’d waited by firelight all night..

So we’ll go toe-to-toe
I’m ready for your explanations
say everything’s alright
Each scenario a dreaming
Each “suppose”… so misleading
I point to my lack of adornment
you tell me I am evergreen.

Each day you lie sleeping
beneath your white blanket
And I make our plans for the evening
Our days are full seasons
I spread out the leaves –
faint memories of the deaths
of the beauties once chased;
their heat and their loudness and pretty blooms
died at my singing
They withered and fell at my feet,
then I lay beneath your embrace.

By the time the first bud of the spring comes
to glitter your eye,
I have already died!
You have loved me well into a stupor –
I chose this sweet suicide.
And if it goes ’round in a circle
I will choose again to fall, and to fly.

The letter of comfort Autumn the Immortal left behind for her Lover, the Winter

4 thoughts on “The letter of comfort Autumn the Immortal left behind for her Lover, the Winter

Comment ...

