Leave the Stone Alone

Here are the lyrics to ‘Leave the Stone Alone’ – which is actually just called ‘Leave the Stone Alone,’ and not ‘Leave the Stone Alone_Yep’

🙂

See me there … innocuous rock /
You don’t care, you’re gonna pick me up
And put me in your hand you fool of a man /
Even though I’m minding my own business in my garden

You put me in your pocket – perhaps you’re stupid /
I’m getting angry at your impudence
You assume I can do nothing about your insolence /
And that there’s nothing more to me than symmetry and smoothness

I think – real – hard, the air … starts – moving
I start to laugh … you’ll be a hapless victim of my master plan
Your stomach starts to burn and churn and soon you’re feeling smaller
Like Alice down in Wonderland you’re nowhere that you understand
And although I’m inanimate – seems someone bested you – guess who …

CH
You’ve gone through a wormhole where the reject song ideas go
You’re a paper clip now – stretching out to hold a memo
I’m an angry rock, and I settled the score / I’m not the only object anymore
When the magic wears off it will be all over
But you’ll remember … 
You better leave the stone alone : ||

The spell wears off … You shook it off /
You thought it was a bad dream – that you woke up from
My wormhole spit you back into your human shape, ‘n the-way-it-works,
the magic vapor dissipates and then I gotta wait … for  … it

You seem to ‘remember, something ’bout a rock /
Your booty’s sore from being twisted ’round the legal docs
And I don’t have an arm to smack you, or legs to track you /
When you see the stone you think it’s me – I focus … to attack you

So I c-concentrate …. once again the air shakes
I think the dirty mouths of people sure do stank

 
CH
You’ve gone through a wormhole
Where the reject song ideas go
I have hurled you through the void / In the form of an altoid
Although I cannot move  … I search and destroy
I’m an angry rock, and I settled the score
I’m not the only object anymore
When the magic wears off you’ll be a human again and it will be all over
But you’ll remember
You better leave the stone alone

(“You better leave the stone a-lone” / “It’s never done nothin’ to you, now”)

Leave the Stone Alone

One thought on “Leave the Stone Alone

  1. Very fun song. “A wormhole where the reject song ideas go” seems like a very Neil Gaiman-like idea. I’m guessing you’re a fan. Anyway, I like the whole original fantasy concept here. I also liked how you started layering the background vocals at the end. Twas both pretty and insane.

    And thank you for the nice comment about “Bad Penny” too. Rock on!

Comment ...

